Seventeen Dollars
Ethiopia's deposit insurance fund set out to show how much of the banking system its guarantee covers. The table it published answers a different question: what the country actually has in the bank, and who holds it.
Deposit accounts, banks & MFIs
176,056,513
Below the Br 100,000 ceiling
97.10%
Share of deposits they hold
13.65%
Total system deposits
Br 3.55tn
Analysis of Ethiopian Deposit Insurance Fund and National Bank of Ethiopia disclosures, layered against the bank-by-bank financial statements held in the 360 Data archive. Position as at 30 June 2025 unless stated.
Published 2026-09-18 · Position at 2025-06-30 · 162.76 ETB/USD
Mid-market. Conversions are indicative only — the parallel-market rate ran roughly 10–15% above the official rate through 2026.
Mean balance, insured accounts
Br 2,837
The average balance across the 170,957,851 deposit accounts that sit below Ethiopia's Br 100,000 insurance ceiling — about US$17.43. They are 97.1% of all accounts in the country and hold 13.65% of the money.
Act IThe distribution
Almost every account. Almost none of the money.
The Ethiopian Deposit Insurance Fund has to know the shape of the deposit base in order to price its premium. Publishing that shape was incidental. It is also the most complete picture of the Ethiopian deposit base anyone has released — household, business and institutional accounts together, which is why it cannot be read as a picture of household wealth alone.
The fund's annual report for 2024/25 records 176,056,513 deposit accounts across Ethiopia's banks and microfinance institutions at 30 June 2025. Of those, 170,957,851 — 97.1 per cent — held less than Br 100,000 and were therefore fully covered by the guarantee. Together those accounts contained Br 485.01 billion.
That last number is the one that matters. Br 485.01 billion is 13.65 per cent of all deposits in the Ethiopian financial system. Which means the arithmetic runs the other way too: the remaining 2.9 per cent of accounts hold 86.35 per cent of the money.
The figures check out against the central bank's own books. Br 485.01bn at 13.65% implies a total deposit base of Br 3,553 billion. The National Bank of Ethiopia's Fourth Quarter Bulletin for 2024/25 independently reports total deposits of Br 3.5 trillion at the same date, and its March 2026 Financial Stability Report reports Br 3.51 trillion. Two institutions, three documents, one system.
Each square is one per cent. The two grids use identical geometry so the reader compares position, not area. Shares rounded to whole squares: 97.10% and 2.90% of accounts; 13.65% and 86.35% of deposit value.
- Accounts below Br 100,000
- Accounts at or above Br 100,000
If Ethiopia had 100 accounts
97 of them would hold less than Br 100,000.
If Ethiopia had 100 birr
Those same 97 accounts would hold Br 14. The other 3 would hold Br 86.
Before the chart: what would you have guessed?
97 per cent of Ethiopia's deposit accounts sit below the Br 100,000 insurance ceiling. What share of the country's total bank deposits do you think those accounts hold?
30%
One scale, one colour assignment. Reading down the left edge gives the whole argument: the first block collapses from almost the full width to a seventh of it.
- Below Br 100,000
- At or above Br 100,000
At one honest scale
What separates the two groups is not a gap. It is two orders of magnitude.
Scroll. The bar rises at a constant number of birr per pixel — no log scale, no axis break. The mean insured balance is drawn at the same scale and never moves.
Br 0
Below the mean insured balance
The mean insured account holds Br 2,837. At the scale this bar is drawn, it is a line one pixel high. It is already behind you.
Br 100,000 — the ceiling that defines “fully protected” in Ethiopian law, and the line 97.1% of accounts fall below. It is 35 times the mean insured balance.
Keep going. Everything above this point belongs to 2.9 per cent of accounts: 5,098,662 of them, against 170,957,851 below.
Br 601,761. The mean balance of an account above the ceiling. It is 212 times the mean balance below it — and there is no public data on how far past this the top of the distribution runs.
Two accounts. One holds Br 2,837, the other Br 601,761. There are 170,957,851 of the first and 5,098,662 of the second, and the second group holds 86 per cent of every birr on deposit in Ethiopia.
Derived from EDIF Annual Report 2024/25 · Position at 30 June 2025
EDIF publishes one national total. It does not publish a bank-by-bank breakdown, and neither does the National Bank — both hold it, because both need it to assess premiums and supervise. What 360 Data can do is rebuild the base from the other end: from the audited balance sheets the banks themselves filed for the year ended 30 June 2025.
Total deposits as reported in each bank's own 2024/25 statements, the same date as the EDIF figure. Twenty-four banks account for Br 1.709 trillion — 48.1% of the national base EDIF implies. Every bar links to that institution's profile and its underlying filing.
14,987,730 customers disclosed
Br 333bn- Br 243bn
- Br 202bn
- Br 174bn
- Br 103bn
- Br 82.9bn
- Br 71.9bn
- Br 70.9bn
- Br 64.4bn
- Br 61.7bn
- Br 51.3bn
- Br 46.6bn
- Br 44.5bn
- Br 44.0bn
- Br 31.5bn
- Br 25.8bn
- Br 14.6bn
- Br 11.6bn
- Br 7.9bn
- Br 7.6bn
- Br 7.1bn
- Br 5.0bn
- Br 3.7bn
- Br 1.3bn
Commercial Bank of Ethiopia · 2024/25
>49% of the market. Latest filing: 2016EC (ETB 1.17T)
Not disclosed
Banks filing for 2024/25
24
Banks with a disclosed deposits line for 2017EC in the 360 Data archive
Deposits those filings account for
ETB 1.71T
Summed from the banks' own balance sheets, not from a regulator's table
Share of the national base
48.10%
Against the ETB 3.55T the EDIF figures imply
Where would an account like yours sit?
Pick a band. Nothing is typed, stored, or sent anywhere.
Ethiopia publishes only one cut point — Br 100,000. No finer distribution exists in public, so this tool can place an account on one side of the ceiling and no closer. That absence is itself a finding.
Act IIThe measurement
There are more accounts than there are people to hold them.
A deposit base of 176 million accounts sits in a country of roughly 83 million adults, fewer than half of whom have any account at all. Ethiopia's inclusion statistics do not describe a population. They describe a registration count.
Set the deposit-account total against the population and the ratio is 2.12 accounts per adult. Set it against the World Bank's Global Findex survey, which finds 49 per cent of Ethiopian adults holding any account at all, and it becomes roughly 4.3 accounts per banked adult.
This is not a secret inside the central bank. In June 2026, Naoll Addisu, senior technology adviser to the NBE Governor, told a summit in Addis Ababa that Ethiopia has around 64 million real financial accounts even though the nominal figure “pushes toward 128 million” once wallets are counted — and warned that the headline number overstates inclusion. Two months later his colleague put a number on the hollowness.
Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, and fewer than 15 per cent of them are active.
Solomon Damtew Metaferia, Director of Banking & Payment Systems, National Bank of Ethiopia · 29th Connected Banking Summit, 17 August 2026
Four providers advertise more than 106 million mobile money accounts between them. The National Bank says fewer than 15 per cent of the country's 157 million such accounts are active — a national ceiling of about 23.6 million. The claims overshoot the regulator by roughly four and a half times. The definitions differ: Telebirr and CBE Birr report registrations, M-PESA reports 90-day actives, and Coopay-Ebirr describes its figure as active users.
Regulator's implied ceiling on active accounts: 23.55m
Telebirr
registered users, Jul 2026
60.59mCoopay-Ebirr
“active users”, Jun 2026
22.4mCBE Birr
registered customers, Jun 2026
18mM-PESA Ethiopia
90-day active, Mar 2026
5.2m
360 Data makes a second absence measurable. Of the twenty-eight Ethiopian banks whose financial statements it holds, exactly one — Awash Bank — publishes a customer count alongside its deposits. Abyssinia, Wegagen, Nib, Hibret, Zemen, Abay, Berhan, Bunna and a dozen others publish capital, assets, profit and branch counts, and no customer numbers at all. The absence is uniform enough to look like a convention rather than an oversight, and it is reportable in its own right.
Deposit accounts per adult
2.12
176.1m accounts, ~82.9m adults aged 15+, 2025
Adults with any account
48.8%
Global Findex 2025, surveyed Oct–Nov 2024
Adults with a digitally-enabled account
7%
Card, phone or app payments, Findex 2025
Banks disclosing customer counts
1 of 28
Of every Ethiopian bank whose financial statements 360 Data holds, in any year
None of this is accidental drift. The National Bank's own National Financial Inclusion Strategy II is denominated in transaction accounts per 100 adults: a 2020 baseline of 159, and a 2025 target of 337. The state is explicitly planning for 3.4 accounts per adult. The strategy document does not mention duplicate accounts, dormant accounts, or unique-customer counting anywhere in its text.
Two consequences follow. First, an account-opening target can be met while financial inclusion stalls — and it did: the same strategy targeted 70 per cent of adults with accounts by 2025, and Findex measured 49 per cent. Second, and more relevant to Act I: a large share of the 171 million small accounts are not savers with small savings. A large share are likely to be shells — opened for a single purpose and then left — though no published figure measures dormancy, so the size of that share is unknown. That cuts both ways. It softens any claim that 171 million Ethiopians are destitute. It sharpens the claim that the numbers Ethiopia reports as financial inclusion are hollow.
Act IIIThe fragility
A guarantee that has quietly lost two-thirds of its value.
The Br 100,000 ceiling was fixed in November 2023 and has never been revised. Everything around it has moved.
The Br 100,000 ceiling took effect on 7 November 2023 and has not moved since. Measured in dollars it has fallen from about US$1,750 to about US$614 as the birr went from roughly 57.5 to the dollar to 162.8 following the July 2024 float. In domestic purchasing power the fall is smaller but still steep: splicing inflation of 21.0% in 2024, 13.2% in 2025 and 15.1% annualised through August 2026 — plus the two months of 2023 after the ceiling took effect — leaves it buying about 64% of what it did, a real-terms loss of roughly a third against a 65% loss in dollars.
The nominal guarantee is unchanged. Its dollar value is plotted at the official rate on each date. The real-terms figure quoted in the text is derived by splicing annual and monthly CPI across the 34 months since the ceiling took effect; it is an approximation, not a point estimate.
EDIF has said a revision is coming. In September 2024 its operations director, Merga Wakweya, said that “in principle, we believe that the amount will be revised every time, which is international practice.” Two years later the chief executive, Desalegn Ambaw, confirmed a review of the payout ceiling is planned but that no revised figure has been announced. The fund itself has grown roughly fourfold, from about Br 6.5 billion at launch in November 2023 to Br 27.43 billion in reserves. The ceiling has not moved.
The National Bank published this statistic in its Financial Stability Reports for two consecutive years. It does not appear in the March 2026 edition. The NBE's own caveat is worth carrying: state-owned enterprises are among the largest depositors, so concentration among strictly private depositors is smaller than these figures imply.
June 2023
held by 0.5% of depositors
56.3%June 2024
held by 0.4% of depositors
58.5%June 2025
Absent from the March 2026 Financial Stability Report
Not disclosed
The same concentration runs through the institutions as through the depositors. At June 2025 the Commercial Bank of Ethiopia alone held more than 49 per cent of the banking market; six medium-sized banks held 29.1 per cent; the remaining twenty-five banks shared 21.8 per cent between them. In the year to June 2025, sixteen of Ethiopia's banks failed the National Bank's stress test for a sudden withdrawal by their ten largest depositors — an improvement on the twenty that failed the year before.
Ethiopia sits roughly nine points below the Sub-Saharan African average and last among its regional comparators, having risen from 21.8% in 2014. The survey behind the Ethiopian figure excluded the Amhara, Tigray, Harari and Somali regions — about 30% of the population — so the true national rate is likely lower than plotted.
Kenya
90.12%Ghana
81.24%Uganda
72.83%Nigeria
63.26%Tanzania
59.83%Sub-Saharan Africa
regional average
58%Ethiopia
~30% of the population excluded from the sample
48.83%
That is the structural point a coverage statistic was never meant to make. A system in which a handful of depositors can move a bank is a system where the holders of those 97 per cent of accounts are exposed to decisions they have no part in — and where a Br 100,000 guarantee, worth US$614 and falling, is what stands between them and the outcome. The two shares are not the same population: 0.5% of depositors is the central bank's unit and 2.9% of accounts is EDIF's, and nobody publishes the bridge between them. Set that against Act I and the position sharpens: the guarantee covers 97 per cent of accounts because 97 per cent of accounts are small, not because the guarantee is generous. The 86 per cent of value that sits above the line is, by design, uninsured.
Act IVThe face we cannot see
Nobody can say whose the 97 per cent are.
Ethiopia can say how many accounts sit below the ceiling. It cannot say whose they are — not by sex, not by region, not by age. That absence is structural, and it is the deepest gap in the record.
Two universes sit either side of this story and cannot be combined. The supply side — EDIF, the National Bank, the banks aggregated on 360 Data — counts accounts: 176.1 million of them, with balances attached, and no demographics beyond an occasional sex split. The demand side — Findex, the Socioeconomic Survey, the DHS — counts people, with a full demographic vector and no monetary values at all. Any arithmetic that divides 176,056,513 accounts by a survey's demographic share is invalid.
Who holds an account — and who holds the money
Pick a dimension. Each one answers the first question to some degree. None of them answers the second: no Ethiopian dataset records the value of savings by any demographic.
Sex is the best-covered dimension, and the only one with a supply-side reading. Findex puts account ownership at roughly 56% of men against 36% of women — a 20-point gap. The National Bank's own scorecard, which counts accounts rather than people, finds women hold 32.5% of active transaction accounts, and just 14% of mobile money accounts. GSMA explains the mechanism: 18% of Ethiopian men own a smartphone against 6% of women.
What this dimension cannot tell you
The two readings cannot be multiplied. The 32.5% is a 32-bank scorecard share; the 176.06m total covers banks and microfinance institutions, and the scorecard is self-reported and unaudited. Applying one to the other would imply women hold about 57 million accounts — an illustrative number, never a finding. And no source splits deposit VALUE by sex.
Sources Global Findex 2025 · Women's Financial Inclusion Scorecard, Round II · Mobile Gender Gap Report 2025 · Internal digital financial services statistics, 2023
% of adults 15+, unless noted
Men — any account
Findex 2021 fieldwork
56%Women — any account
Findex 2021 fieldwork
36%Men — digital payments
Findex 2025
26%Women — digital payments
Findex 2025
13%Women's share of active transaction accounts
NBE WFISC Round II, 32 banks · supply-side
32.5%Women's share of mobile money accounts
NBE internal, 2023 · supply-side · unverified against a second source
14%
There is one value-weighted gender statistic in Ethiopian finance, and it is about lending, not saving. The National Bank's Women's Financial Inclusion Scorecard finds women hold 28.5 per cent of traditional loans by number but only 17.3 per cent by value. Women borrow, and borrow smaller. It is the closest available analogue to the account-versus-value inversion at the heart of this page — and the deposit version of it does not exist.
The only value-weighted gender statistic in Ethiopian finance is about lending. The gap between share-by-number and share-by-value is the closest available analogue to the deposit inversion — which is not published.
Women's share of loans by number
28.5%Women's share of loan value
17.3%Women's share of active transaction accounts
32.5%Women's share of mobile money accounts
NBE internal, 2023
14%
Location is where the demand-side data bites hardest. The Socioeconomic Survey found account ownership of 75 per cent in Addis Ababa against 6 per cent in the Somali region — a 69-point spread, and the figure the National Bank used to set its own targets. Thirty-seven per cent of woredas have no bank branch at all. The NBE's quarterly bulletin gives only a binary Addis-versus-regional split for branches, and nothing regional for deposits — yet its own inclusion strategy carries a “regional transaction account gap” target, which means the region-level account data exists internally and is not published.
What is not published
The figures that would settle this, and who holds them.
The full balance-band table
Share of accounts and share of value below Br 10,000, 100,000, 1 million and 10 million. EDIF must compute this to price its 0.3%-of-deposits premium, so it exists. Only one cut point — Br 100,000 — has been published.
Held by EDIF · premium-assessment returns
A bank-by-bank account and balance breakdown
360 Data can rebuild 48% of the deposit base from published balance sheets, but not one of the 176 million accounts is attributable to an institution in public data. EDIF assesses premiums per institution and the NBE collects supervisory returns; neither publishes.
Held by EDIF · NBE Banking Supervision
A unique-depositor count
Every figure here divides birr by accounts. Nobody publishes how many distinct people those 176 million accounts belong to. Fayda-linked KYC is the only route to it.
Held by NBE Payment & Settlement Systems Directorate
The June 2025 concentration figure
The NBE published depositor concentration in two consecutive Financial Stability Reports and omitted it from the third. Why the series was discontinued is an open question.
Held by NBE · Financial Stability
Regional account data
The NBE's own inclusion strategy carries a “regional transaction account gap” target sourced to supply-side data, which proves region-level account data exists internally. No regional split of deposits or deposit accounts has ever been published.
Held by NBE Banking Supervision
Customer counts from most private banks
Of the twenty-eight banks whose statements 360 Data holds, one publishes a customer count. The rest publish capital, assets, profit and branch counts and no customer numbers at all.
Held by The banks themselves
Contradictions in the record
Where two published sources disagree, both are carried here rather than one being chosen silently.
EDIF reserves
- A
- Br 27.43bn (end FY2025/26)
- B
- Br 45.57bn (“late 2026”, Capital, 13 Sep 2026)
How we treat it A 66% discrepancy weeks apart. We use the lower, earlier-dated figure and flag it; verify with EDIF before relying on either.
Bank branches at June 2025
- A
- 12,590 (Q4 Bulletin)
- B
- 13,120 + 104 DBE (FSR March 2026)
How we treat it A ~530-branch gap in the same institution's own publications for the same date. We use the Bulletin.
Microfinance institution count
- A
- 59 (FSR March 2026)
- B
- 48 / 56 / 57 across three other NBE documents
How we treat it Irreconcilable from public sources. We use the FSR figure and note the spread.
The coverage wording
- A
- “97% of depositors” (Capital, from EDIF)
- B
- “Over 97% of Ethiopians” (Ethiopian Herald)
How we treat it The second is wrong on its face — only about 49% of adults hold any account. We use the depositors formulation throughout.
Mean balance per depositor
- A
- Br 2,837 “per depositor”
- B
- Br 2,837 per account
How we treat it The figure is derived, not reported: EDIF publishes the total and the account count, and Br 2,837 is birr divided by accounts, not by people. We mark it derived in the table and state it as a per-account average everywhere it appears.
Savings/time deposit split at June 2025
- A
- Br 2.00tn / Br 252bn (Q4 Bulletin)
- B
- Br 2.05tn / Br 207.8bn (FSR March 2026)
How we treat it The two sources disagree on how the total splits between savings and time deposits. Total deposits still agree at about Br 3.5tn — the quoted pairs cover only savings and time, with demand deposits making up the balance. We do not use the split anywhere on this page.
Follow this through the data
The institutions, sectors and explainers behind the figures above.
Banking sector league table
Deposits, assets, profit and health for every bank behind the 48.1% reconciliation — sortable and exportable.
See full detailsCommercial Bank of Ethiopia
More than 49% of the market, and the largest gap in the bank-level picture: no 2024/25 balance sheet published.
See full detailsAwash Bank
The only bank in the 360 Data archive that publishes a customer count beside its deposits: 14,987,730 at 30 June 2025.
See full detailsCooperative Bank of Oromia
15.6 million account holders in the annual report; 22.4 million “active users” claimed by its wallet.
See full detailsReading a bank's balance sheet
What the deposits line is, and why it is the number this analysis turns on.
See full detailsEthiopia's financial regulators, explained
Who EDIF, the NBE, ECMA and ESX are, and which of them holds what.
See full detailsHow Ethiopian fiscal years work
Why 2017EC means 2024/25, and why cross-company comparisons need the mapping.
See full detailsData explorer
Every figure 360 Data holds, filterable by institution and fiscal year, exportable as CSV.
See full detailsEvery figure on this page
Highlighted rows are derived, not reported, and show their arithmetic. Every figure resolves to the source it came from.
| Figure | Value | As at | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deposit accounts, banks and MFIs | 176,056,513 | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Accounts below Br 100,000 | 170,957,851 | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Share of accounts below the ceiling | 97.10% | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Value held in those accounts | Br 485.01bn | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Their share of total deposits | 13.65% | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Total system deposits (implied) Derived Workings: 485.01bn ÷ 0.1365 | Br 3,553bn | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Total bank deposits (reported) | Br 3.5tn | 30 Jun 2025 | Fourth Quarter Bulletin 2024/25 |
| Total bank deposits (reported) | Br 3.51tn | 30 Jun 2025 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Accounts at or above the ceiling Derived Workings: 176,056,513 − 170,957,851 | 5,098,662 | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Their share of accounts Derived Workings: 5,098,662 ÷ 176,056,513 | 2.90% | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Value they hold Derived Workings: 3,553bn − 485.01bn | Br 3,068bn | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Their share of deposits Derived Workings: 100% − 13.65% | 86.35% | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Mean balance, accounts below ceiling Derived Workings: 485.01bn ÷ 170,957,851 | Br 2,837 | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Mean balance, accounts above ceiling Derived Workings: 3,068bn ÷ 5,098,662 | Br 601,761 | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Ratio between the two means Derived Workings: 601,761 ÷ 2,837 | 212× | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Ceiling as a multiple of the mean below it Derived Workings: 100,000 ÷ 2,837 | 35.25× | 30 Jun 2025 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| Deposit insurance ceiling | Br 100,000 | Since 7 Nov 2023 | Commentary on Regulation No. 482/2021 and the Ethiopian Deposit Insurance Fund |
| Ceiling in USD at inception Derived Workings: 100,000 ÷ 57.48 (the source reports ≈US$1,750) | ≈ US$1,740 | Nov 2023 | Daily exchange rates |
| Ceiling in USD today Derived Workings: 100,000 ÷ 162.76 | ≈ US$614 | 18 Sep 2026 | Daily exchange rates |
| EDIF reserves | Br 27.43bn | End FY2025/26 | EDIF weighs shift to target fund model amid T-bill yield drops |
| EDIF annual premium rate | 0.3% of average total deposits | FY2025/26 | EDIF weighs shift to target fund model amid T-bill yield drops |
| EDIF payout events to date | None | Sep 2026 | EDIF weighs shift to target fund model amid T-bill yield drops |
| Depositor concentration | 0.5% held 56.3% | 30 Jun 2023 | Financial Stability Report, April 2024 |
| Depositor concentration | 0.4% held 58.5% | 30 Jun 2024 | Financial Stability Report, November 2024 |
| Depositor concentration | not published | 30 Jun 2025 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Banks / branches | 32 / 12,590 | 30 Jun 2025 | Fourth Quarter Bulletin 2024/25 |
| Population per branch | 8,868 | 30 Jun 2025 | Fourth Quarter Bulletin 2024/25 |
| Addis Ababa share of branches | 30.1% | 30 Jun 2025 | Fourth Quarter Bulletin 2024/25 |
| CBE share of banking market | >49% | FY2024/25 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Banks failing depositor stress test | 16 of 32 | Year to Jun 2025 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Banks failing the same test, prior year | 20 of 32 | Year to Jun 2024 | Financial Stability Report, November 2024 |
| Sector NPL ratio | 3.1% | 30 Jun 2025 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Microfinance institutions / savers | 59 / 7,109,133 | 30 Jun 2025 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| MFI savers as a share of all accounts Derived Workings: 7,109,133 ÷ 176,056,513 | 4.04% | 30 Jun 2025 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Deposits held by the 24 banks aggregated on 360 Data Derived Workings: Sum of totalDeposits, 2017EC files | Br 1.709tn | 30 Jun 2025 | Banking sector league table |
| That sum as a share of the national base Derived Workings: 1.709tn ÷ 3,553bn | 48.10% | 30 Jun 2025 | Banking sector league table |
| Banks on 360 Data disclosing a customer count Derived Workings: Count of sectorKpis.customers | 1 of 28 | 30 Jun 2025 | Banking sector league table |
| Awash Bank customers | 14,987,730 | 30 Jun 2025 | Awash Bank profile |
| Awash Bank deposits | Br 332.9bn | 30 Jun 2025 | Awash Bank profile |
| CBE deposits, latest held on 360 Data | Br 1.174tn | 30 Jun 2024 | Commercial Bank of Ethiopia profile |
| Mobile money accounts | 157 million | Aug 2026 | Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active |
| Share of those that are active | <15% | Aug 2026 | Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active |
| Implied active mobile money accounts Derived Workings: 157m × 15% | <23.6 million | Aug 2026 | Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active |
| Provider claims, four wallets combined Derived Workings: 60.59 + 22.40 + 18.00 + 5.20 | 106.19 million | 2026 | Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active |
| Overshoot against the regulator's ceiling Derived Workings: 106.19m ÷ 23.55m | 4.51× | 2026 | Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active |
| Telebirr registered users | 60.59 million | FY to Jul 2026 | Ethio Telecom FY2025/26 results |
| Coopay-Ebirr “active users” | 22.4 million | Jun 2026 | Coopay-Ebirr surpasses ETB 6 trillion |
| Cooperative Bank of Oromia account holders | 15.6 million | FY2024/25 | Annual Report 2024/25 |
| CBE Birr registered customers | 18 million | Jun 2026 | CBE reports 15 trillion birr in digital transactions |
| CBE deposit accounts | 45 million | Jan 2026 | CBE holds 45 million accounts |
| M-PESA Ethiopia 90-day active | 5.2 million | 31 Mar 2026 | Safaricom Ethiopia FY26 results explained |
| NBE adviser's estimate of real accounts | ≈64 million | Jun 2026 | NBE adviser questions financial inclusion metrics |
| Adults aged 15 and over Derived Workings: SP.POP.TOTL − SP.POP.0014.TO | ≈82.9 million | 2025 | Population estimates, Ethiopia |
| Deposit accounts per adult Derived Workings: 176,056,513 ÷ 82,936,359 | 2.12 | 2025 | Population estimates, Ethiopia |
| Accounts per banked adult Derived Workings: 176,056,513 ÷ 82,936,359 ÷ 0.4883 — divides supply-side accounts by a demand-side survey share; illustrative only, never a finding | 4.35 (illustrative) | 2025 | Population estimates, Ethiopia |
| Adults with any account | 48.8% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Adults with a mobile money account | 19.4% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Adults with a digitally-enabled account | 7% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Adults borrowing formally | 4% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Population excluded from the Findex sample | ≈30% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 survey methodology |
| NFIS-II target, accounts per 100 adults | 337 by 2025 | Target set 2021 | National Financial Inclusion Strategy II (2021–2025) |
| NFIS-II baseline, accounts per 100 adults | 159 | 2020 | National Financial Inclusion Strategy II (2021–2025) |
| NFIS-II target, adults with accounts | 70% by 2025 | Target set 2021 | National Financial Inclusion Strategy II (2021–2025) |
| NFIS-II target, accounts per 100 women | 135 by 2025 (from 49) | Target set 2021 | National Financial Inclusion Strategy II (2021–2025) |
| Women's share of active transaction accounts | 32.5% | 2025 | Women's Financial Inclusion Scorecard, Round II |
| Women's share of loans by number | 28.5% | 2025 | Women's Financial Inclusion Scorecard, Round II |
| Women's share of loan value | 17.3% | 2025 | Women's Financial Inclusion Scorecard, Round II |
| Smartphone ownership, men vs women | 18% vs 6% | 2024 fieldwork | Mobile Gender Gap Report 2025 |
| Account ownership, Addis Ababa vs Somali | 75% vs 6% | 2018/19 | Ethiopia Socioeconomic Survey, Wave 4 (2018/19) |
| Woredas with no bank branch | 37% | 2020 | Ethiopia Financial Inclusion Geospatial Report 2020 |
| Interoperable transactions, EthSwitch | 387 million (Br 1.26tn) | FY2025/26 | EthSwitch FY2025/26 results |
| Exchange rate | 162.76 ETB/USD | 18 Sep 2026 | Daily exchange rates |
| Inflation | 21.0% / 13.2% / 15.1% | 2024 / 2025 / Aug 2026 | Consumer price inflation, Ethiopia |
| Mean balance below the ceiling, in USD Derived Workings: 2,837.02 ÷ 162.76 | ≈ US$17.43 | 30 Jun 2025 | Daily exchange rates |
| Mean balance above the ceiling, in USD Derived Workings: 601,761.17 ÷ 162.76 | ≈ US$3,697 | 30 Jun 2025 | Daily exchange rates |
| US$100 at the page's rate Derived Workings: 100 × 162.76 | Br 16,276 | 18 Sep 2026 | Daily exchange rates |
| US$1,000 at the page's rate Derived Workings: 1,000 × 162.76 | Br 162,760 | 18 Sep 2026 | Daily exchange rates |
| Ceiling in USD after the float Derived Workings: 100,000 ÷ 105 | ≈ US$952 | Aug 2024 | Daily exchange rates |
| Ceiling in USD, mid-2025 Derived Workings: 100,000 ÷ 136 | ≈ US$735 | Jul 2025 | Daily exchange rates |
| Account ownership, Kenya | 90.12% | Surveyed 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, Ghana | 81.24% | Surveyed 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, Uganda | 72.83% | Surveyed 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, Nigeria | 63.26% | Surveyed 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, Tanzania | 59.83% | Surveyed 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, Sub-Saharan Africa | ≈58.0% | Surveyed 2024 | The Global Findex 2025: could instant payments be driving financial inclusion in Africa? |
| Account ownership, Ethiopia, 2014 | 21.8% | 2014 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Six medium-sized banks' market share | 29.1% | FY2024/25 | NBE on banking market share |
| Remaining 25 banks' combined share | 21.8% | FY2024/25 | NBE on banking market share |
| EDIF fund at launch | ≈Br 6.5bn | Nov 2023 | Insurance fund aims to meet minimum fund mobilization in 10 years |
| Growth in EDIF reserves since launch Derived Workings: 27.43bn ÷ 6.5bn | ≈4.2× | Nov 2023 → FY2025/26 | EDIF weighs shift to target fund model amid T-bill yield drops |
| Ceiling's real value vs November 2023 Derived Workings: 1 ÷ (1.3022^(2/12) × 1.210 × 1.132 × 1.151^(8/12)) = 0.636 | ≈64% | Aug 2026 | Consumer price inflation, Ethiopia |
| Account ownership, men | 56% | Surveyed 2022 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, women | 36% | Surveyed 2022 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Digital payments, men | 26% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Digital payments, women | 13% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Women's share of mobile money accounts | 14% | 2023 | Internal digital financial services statistics, 2023 |
| Account ownership, urban | 73% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, urban (earlier reading) | ≈60% | 2018/19 | Ethiopia Socioeconomic Survey, Wave 4 (2018/19) |
| Account ownership, rural (earlier reading) | ≈25% | 2018/19 | Ethiopia Socioeconomic Survey, Wave 4 (2018/19) |
| Share of bank lending to urban borrowers | 99.8% | 30 Jun 2023 | Financial Stability Report, March 2026 |
| Account ownership, secondary education or higher | 79.95% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, primary education or less | 41.73% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Account ownership, poorest 40% | 42.58% | Surveyed Oct–Nov 2024 | Global Findex 2025 |
| Coopay-Ebirr claim minus CoopBank customers Derived Workings: 22.4m − 15.6m | 6.8 million | Jun 2026 | Coopay-Ebirr surpasses ETB 6 trillion |
| That wallet as a share of active accounts Derived Workings: 22.4m ÷ 23.55m | 95.1% | Aug 2026 | Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active |
| NFIS-II target, accounts per adult Derived Workings: 337 ÷ 100 | 3.37 | Target set 2021 | National Financial Inclusion Strategy II (2021–2025) |
Excluded by design: Excluded from this page by design: the ~99% variant of the coverage figure, and the June 2025 depositor-concentration figure (~0.6% of depositors holding ~60% of deposits) reported in Amharic coverage. Both are plausible and consistent with the trend shown above, but neither could be verified against a second published source at the time of writing.
Method
The headline figures come from the Ethiopian Deposit Insurance Fund's Annual Report 2024/25, published May 2026, reporting the position at 30 June 2025. They were first surfaced in Amharic by Ethiopian Reporter and read against the annual report by the analyst Abdulmenan Mohammed.
The validation test applied throughout: Br 485.01 billion at a 13.65% share implies a total deposit base of Br 3,553 billion. The National Bank of Ethiopia's Fourth Quarter Bulletin 2024/25 independently reports Br 3.5 trillion at the same date, and its March 2026 Financial Stability Report reports Br 3.51 trillion. The EDIF figures are therefore internally consistent with the central bank's separately published accounts.
The bank-level layer is computed at build time from the financial statements 360 Data already holds: the totalDeposits line of every 2017EC (2024/25) filing, summed across twenty-four banks. It is not an EDIF or NBE figure and is not presented as one — it is what the banks themselves published, aggregated, and it reconciles to 48.1% of the national base.
Derived figures — the 2.90% account share, the Br 3,068bn and 86.35% value share, the Br 601,761 mean and the 212× ratio — are arithmetic on the reported numbers and are marked as derived in the figure table, with the arithmetic shown. Dollar conversions use 162.76 ETB/USD at 18 September 2026 and are indicative only.
Ethiopian fiscal years run 1 Hamle to 30 Sene, approximately 8 July to 7 July. “2024/25” means the year ended 30 June 2025 unless otherwise stated. Ethio Telecom reports on the Ethiopian fiscal year and Safaricom Ethiopia to 31 March, so their figures are not directly comparable to the NBE's.
Sources
- Annual Report 2024/25 — Ethiopian Deposit Insurance Fund
- ተቀማጭ ገንዘብ ዋስትና ሽፋን (Amharic) — Ethiopian Reporter
- Fourth Quarter Bulletin 2024/25 — National Bank of Ethiopia
- Financial Stability Report, March 2026 — National Bank of Ethiopia
- Financial Stability Report, November 2024 — National Bank of Ethiopia
- Financial Stability Report, April 2024 — National Bank of Ethiopia
- National Financial Inclusion Strategy II (2021–2025) — National Bank of Ethiopia
- Women's Financial Inclusion Scorecard, Round II — National Bank of Ethiopia
- Global Findex 2025 — World Bank
- Global Findex 2025 survey methodology — World Bank
- Ethiopia has 157 million mobile money accounts, but less than 15% are active — Ethiopian Business Review
- NBE adviser questions financial inclusion metrics — Ethiopian Business Review
- Coopay-Ebirr surpasses ETB 6 trillion — Cooperative Bank of Oromia
- CBE reports 15 trillion birr in digital transactions — Capital Ethiopia
- CBE holds 45 million accounts — Birr Metrics
- Ethio Telecom FY2025/26 results — Ethiopian News Agency
- Safaricom Ethiopia FY26 results explained — Tech-ish
- Awash Bank posts record profit as deposits surge — Addis Fortune
- EDIF, the guarantee and the birr — Business Front
- Insurance fund aims to meet minimum fund mobilization in 10 years — Capital Ethiopia
- EDIF weighs shift to target fund model amid T-bill yield drops — Capital Ethiopia
- NBE on banking market share — The Reporter Ethiopia
- 16 Ethiopian banks fail liquidity stress test — The East African
- EthSwitch FY2025/26 results — Stockmarket.et
- Consumer price inflation, Ethiopia — World Bank
- Population estimates, Ethiopia — World Bank
- The Global Findex 2025: could instant payments be driving financial inclusion in Africa? — AfricaNenda
- Mobile Gender Gap Report 2025 — GSMA
- Ethiopia Socioeconomic Survey, Wave 4 (2018/19) — World Bank / Ethiopian Statistics Service
- Ethiopia Demographic and Health Survey 2024-25 — Ethiopian Statistics Service
- Commentary on Regulation No. 482/2021 and the Ethiopian Deposit Insurance Fund — Dablo Law Firm
- Banking sector league table — 360 Data
- Commercial Bank of Ethiopia profile — 360 Data
- Awash Bank profile — 360 Data
- Cooperative Bank of Oromia profile — 360 Data
- Data explorer — 360 Data
- Daily exchange rates — National Bank of Ethiopia
- Ethiopia Financial Inclusion Geospatial Report 2020 — World Bank
- Annual Report 2024/25 — Cooperative Bank of Oromia
- Internal digital financial services statistics, 2023 — National Bank of Ethiopia
Prepared September 2026. Reporting and analysis are the author's; source documents belong to the institutions named. Figures marked derived are arithmetic on published numbers and should be attributed as such. Corrections welcome — particularly from EDIF and the NBE, on the gaps listed above.